The second component of CCTP is the exam component. CCTP examination is a standardised test administered and scored in a consistent manner to ensure legal defensibility. CCTP examination is an assessment intended to measure a test-taker’s knowledge of basic principles of prevention, detection of terrorism.

The test is developed and administered by CCTP governing body and held on fixed dates as determined by the CCTP administration and educational institution.

The test is administered on paper or on a computer, fixed in terms of scope, difficulty and format. It covers 14 units. The questions are presented in multiple choice format where candidate is given a number of set answers for each question, and the candidate must choose which answer or group of answers is correct. Test is held within the classroom and limited by 60 minutes.


Examination Development

The examination is designed to assess whether a practitioner possesses the knowledge established as the basic competency level required for the designation of counter terrorism practitioner. The examination development process follows internationally accepted procedures for establishing the content validity of a test and the reliability of its scores.

Each domain, and of the relevant tasks, knowledge, and skills within it, determines the specifications of the examination. Each new form of the examination is created according to established test specifications with the appropriate number of items for each domain from the bank of available test questions.

Questions for the examination are obtained from or the CCTP board members, after the questions are drafted, they are reviewed at several different stages for content, accuracy, consistency of style, appropriate reading level, psychometric soundness, and freedom from cultural bias or unequal impact by independent counselors.


The CCTP examination is based on the following 14 units (domains):


  1. Global terrorism today – Introduction to the threat
  2. Terror organizations
  3. Critical Soft Targets
  4. Suicide bombers- their mindset and how they operate
  5. The stages of terrorist attack
  6. The adversary –
  7. Bombs and Explosives
  8. Dealing with booby traps
  9. How terrorists conduct intelligence collection
  10. VBIEDs – Vehicle borne IED (car bombs)
  11. The security concept
  12. Incident management
  13. Minimum cost / maximum security options
  14. Preparing the operational procedure file and area portfolio


Examination Scoring and Reporting

After all analyses are complete, the examinations are scored. Candidates will receive notification of passing or failing the exam and score reports containing a breakdown, by domain, of the number of questions they answered correctly versus the total number of question in the domain

1. Scaled Score

In order to maintain test security, the produces multiple forms of examinations with different questions on each form. Individual scores are reported as “scaled scores.” These “scaled scores” are derived from raw scores through mathematical conversion so that scores from different forms can be reported on a common scale and, therefore, represent the same level of competence. Scaled scores, used widely in the certification and licensing fields, ensure that all candidates are required to demonstrate the same level of ability to pass the test regardless of whether or not they took an easier or more difficult test form. Certified public accountants, human resource professionals, and building inspectors are only a few of the many professions receiving scaled examination scores

2. Passing  Score

The CCTP board establishes the number of examination questions that must be answered correctly in order to meet the “minimum competency” certification standard – 70 % of questions.

Upcoming Intakes